The CRHA manages 376 units of public housing at 11 sites in the City of Charlottesville.  It also administers 300 Housing Choice Voucher rental units through leased housing contracts with private owners.   Housing Choice Voucher refers to a part of the Housing Act which created this program.

Approximately 2,000 individuals are housed through these subsidy programs in which participants typically pay approximately 30% of their income for rent and the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) pays the rest.  In Charlottesville Public Housing and the Voucher program, a single person heads seventy-nine percent of the households.  In public housing, 57% of the households have children under the age of 18; while 23% of the public housing households represent senior citizens.   Twenty three percent of public housing households have income from wages; 28% receive Social Security, 11% receive Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF), formerly AFDC.   While 70% of the public housing households have income under $10,000 annually; thirteen percent have income under $3,000 per year.

The seven-member Board of CRHA is appointed by City Council.  The Board has three standing Committees: Redevelopment, Resident Services, and Finance.  Most meetings are open to the public.  Our 2009 meeting calendar can be found here.

The current Board is:

Jason Halbert, Chair

Joy Johnson, Vice Chair & Resident Commissioner

Bob Stevens, Treasurer

Hosea Mitchell

Sherri Clarke, Resident Commissioner

Rick Jones

Dave Norris

Charlottesville Redevelopment & Housing Authority
PO Box 1405
Charlottesville, VA 22902
434-971-4797 fax
TTY: 711 VA Relay

Comments are closed.